Events calendar

Back to All Events

Mariss Jansons and the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra - Saturday, November 9, 2019

Mariss Jansons is considered one of the most outstanding podium personalities of our time. Born in 1943 in Riga as the son of the conductor Arvīds Jansons, he completed his musical education (violin, piano, conducting) at the Leningrad Conservatory and passed with distinction. Afterwards he studied in Vienna under Hans Swarowsky and in Salzburg under Herbert von Karajan. Since 2003, Mariss Jansons has been the Chief Conductor of the Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks (BRSO) and together they return this November for two outstanding concerts at Carnegie Hall.
Saturday, November 9, 2019 – 8 pm - Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage, Carnegie Hall.
A heroic overture and sublime concerto set the stage for an intense symphony. Weber uses several quotes from his opera in a thrilling curtain raiser, while Mozart’s concerto delights with gorgeous melodies. Shostakovich’s symphony reflects on his precarious life in Stalin’s Soviet Union with music that is viscerally powerful. Both men are portrayed in the symphony: the former in a motif that cryptically spelled out initials of his name and the latter in the savage second movement. Ultimately, there is victory as Shostakovich outlived the dictator and dances in a triumphant finale.
Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra
Mariss Jansons, Chief Conductor
Rudolf Buchbinder, Piano

WEBER Overture to Euryanthe
MOZART Piano Concerto No. 23 in A Major, K. 488
SHOSTAKOVICH Symphony No. 10

For more information and tickets, please visit the Carnegie Hall website here.